J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World

The first Harry Potter book, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, was published in 1997 to immediate popular and critical acclaim. Six further best-selling books and eight blockbuster films followed. The books have been translated into 80 languages, won multiple awards, and sold more than 500 million copies worldwide, becoming the best-selling book series in history.

In 2016, a new era of the Wizarding World was unveiled with the launch of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, an original screenplay by J.K. Rowling and a major film release from Warner Bros.

Pottermore, launched in 2012, is the digital heart of the Wizarding World, bringing fans news, features and articles as well as original content by J.K. Rowling. It is also the global digital publisher of Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World.

Robert Galbraith

The Cormoran Strike series is classic contemporary crime fiction set in London, where war veteran turned private detective, Cormoran Strike, solves brutal murders with the help of his trusted assistant Robin Ellacott.

Seeking to return to the beginning of a writing career in a new genre after Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling chose to write crime fiction under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith to be published without expectation or tainted critique.

The first Cormoran Strike novel, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published in 2013 to critical acclaim by both reviewers and fellow crime writers. It wasn’t long, however, before her cover was blown and Robert Galbraith’s true identity was unexpectedly revealed.

Two more books have since followed: The Silkworm (2014) and Career of Evil (2015).

J.K. Rowling continues to write The Cormoran Strike series under the name of Robert Galbraith to maintain the distinction from her other writing.  The books are currently being adapted for a major new television series for BBC One, produced by Brontë Film and Television.

The Robert Galbraith website can be found here - http://robert-galbraith.com/